ICC ODI World Cup 2023: All 10 Teams Updated Final Squad Players List

The ICC ODI World Cup 2023 is set to be one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments of the year, and cricket enthusiasts from around the world are eagerly waiting for the action to unfold.

With all 10 teams now officially confirming their 15-member squads, including any changes, if any, let’s take a closer look at the final squad and key players for each team participating in this prestigious tournament.

1. Afghanistan

Afghanistan enters the ODI World Cup 2023 with high hopes of clinching their maiden title. Under the leadership of Hashmatullah Shahidi, the Afghan team boasts a squad with a mix of batting firepower and formidable bowlers. Star players like Rashid Khan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman will be crucial to Afghanistan’s success.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Najibullah Zadran, Riaz Hassan
  • Wicket-keepers: Ikram Alikhil, Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • All-rounders: Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Rashid Khan
  • Bowlers: Abdul Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad

2. Australia

The five-time ODI World Cup champions, Australia, are looking to add another trophy to their collection under the captaincy of Pat Cummins. Their squad combines experience with emerging talent, with players like David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, and Adam Zampa expected to play pivotal roles.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head
  • Wicket-keepers: Alex Carey, Josh Inglis
  • All-rounders: Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitch Marsh
  • Bowlers: Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott

3. Bangladesh

Bangladesh, led by Shakib Al Hasan, is determined to secure their maiden World Cup trophy. The team’s squad features a balanced mix of batters, all-rounders, and bowlers. Key players such as Najmul Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, and Taskin Ahmed hold the key to Bangladesh’s fortunes.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Najmul Shanto, Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy
  • Wicket-keepers: Litton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim
  • All-rounders: Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Shakib Al Hasan (c)
  • Bowlers: Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Taskin Ahmed

4. England

The defending champions, England, face the challenge of retaining their title under the leadership of Jos Buttler. While they miss Eoin Morgan, England possesses a formidable squad. Match-winners like Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone, Joe Root, and Mark Wood will be key to their campaign.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Dawid Malan, Harry Brook, Joe Root
  • Wicket-keepers: Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (c)
  • All-rounders: Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran
  • Bowlers: Adil Rashid, Gus Atkinson, Mark Wood, Reece Topley

5. India

Team India, led by Rohit Sharma, enters the ODI World Cup 2023 as one of the favorites. With a squad that combines experience and youth, India has a formidable batting lineup and a potent bowling attack. Star players like Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, and Jasprit Bumrah will play crucial roles.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Rohit Sharma (c), Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Virat Kohli
  • Wicket-keepers: Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul
  • All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja
  • Bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur

6. New Zealand

New Zealand, the 2019 World Cup runners-up, aim to go one step further under the captaincy of Kane Williamson. The Kiwi squad features a balanced mix of batters, all-rounders, and bowlers. Key players like Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, and Trent Boult will be instrumental in their campaign.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Kane Williamson (c), Will Young
  • Wicket-keepers: Devon Conway, Tom Latham
  • All-rounders: Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Mark Chapman, Mitch Santner, Rachin Ravindra
  • Bowlers: Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

7. Netherlands

The Netherlands, led by Scott Edwards, have earned their spot in the 2023 ODI World Cup. Their squad is a blend of youth and experience, featuring promising players like Scott Edwards, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, and Logan van Beek.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Max O’Dowd, Vikram Singh, Wesley Barresi
  • Wicket-keeper: Scott Edwards (c)
  • All-rounders: Bas de Leede, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Saqib Zulfiqar, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Teja Nidamanuru
  • Bowlers: Aryan Dutt, Logan van Beek, Paul van Meekeren, Ryan Klein, Shariz Ahmad

8. Pakistan

Pakistan, the 1992 World Cup winners, are led by Babar Azam. Despite recent challenges, Pakistan possesses a squad with immense talent. Players like Babar Azam, Imam ul-Haq, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, and Shaheen Afridi hold the key to Pakistan’s success.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Abdullah Shafique, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel
  • Wicket-keeper: Mohammad Rizwan
  • All-rounders: Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan
  • Bowlers: Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir

9. South Africa

South Africa, under the leadership of Temba Bavuma, aims to clinch their maiden World Cup title. With a squad featuring a mix of batters, wicket-keepers, all-rounders, and bowlers, South Africa has the potential to shine. Key players like David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Kagiso Rabada are vital to their campaign.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: David Miller, Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma (c)
  • Wicket-keepers: Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock
  • All-rounders: Andile Phehlukwayo, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen
  • Bowlers: Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Lizaad Williams, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi

10. Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka, the 1996 World Cup champions, are led by Dasun Shanaka. With a squad featuring batters, wicket-keepers, all-rounders, and bowlers, Sri Lanka has the potential to surprise. Key players like Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Dunith Wellalage, Matheesha Pathirana, and Maheesh Theekshana are vital to their campaign.

Official Squad:

  • Batters: Dimuth Karunaratne, Pathum Nissanka
  • Wicket-keepers: Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Sadeera Samarawickrama
  • All-rounders: Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya de Silva, Dunith Wellalage, Dushan Hemantha
  • Bowlers: Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana

As the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 gets underway, cricket fans can look forward to exciting contests and thrilling performances from these 10 teams. With star players ready to make their mark, the tournament promises to be a cricketing spectacle like no other.

Please note: no changes will be allowed in the World Cup squad unless special approval has been taken from the ICC. Therefore, teams are expected to proceed with their selected players, with replacements named only in the event of player injuries or unavailability.

Cricket enthusiasts worldwide eagerly await the action as teams compete for the coveted ODI World Cup 2023 trophy. Stay tuned for updates, match analyses, and memorable moments from this exciting tournament.

Leave a comment