World Test Championship 2023-25 Schedule: An In-Depth Look into the Upcoming WTC 2023-25 Season

The International Cricket Council has unveiled the long-awaited schedule for the World Test Championship 2023-25, igniting excitement among cricket fans worldwide. The championship will kick-off with the electrifying Ashes series, as arch-rivals England and Australia go head-to-head. It will culminate with a two-match face-off between Sri Lanka and Australia.

Here’s the complete layout of matches per country:

CountryTotal MatchesHome MatchesAway Matches
Australia1910 (IND, WI, PAK)9 (NZ, ENG, SL)
Bangladesh126 (NZ, SA, SL)6 (IND, WI, PAK)
England2110 (AUS, WI, SL)11 (NZ, IND, PAK)
India1910 (NZ, ENG, BAN)9 (AUS, WI, SA)
New Zealand147 (AUS, ENG, SA)7 (IND, BAN, SL)
Pakistan147 (ENG, WI, BAN)7 (AUS, SA, SL)
South Africa126 (IND, PAK, SL)6 (NZ, WI, BAN)
Sri Lanka126 (NZ, AUS, PAK)6 (ENG, SA, BAN)
West Indies136 (IND, SA, BAN)7 (AUS, ENG, PAK)

India, Australia, and England, fondly referred to as the “Big Three,” will participate in the most matches: 20, 21, and 22 Tests, respectively. Points will be awarded based on match outcomes: twelve points for a win, six for a tie, and four for a draw. The final standings will be determined by the percentage of points earned, and the championship finale will be a clash between the two leading teams on the points table.

The third edition of the WTC will stretch over two years, hosting a total of 67 matches between nine participating teams: Australia, England, India, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.

India, who has reached the finals twice, will host New Zealand, England, and Bangladesh while playing their away fixtures against Australia, West Indies, and South Africa. In a notable change from previous editions, the Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia will comprise five matches, a decision reached by mutual agreement between the respective cricket boards.

The previous championship ended with Australia clinching the coveted WTC mace, following a stunning 209-run victory over India. Despite a promising start on the final day with Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane on the crease, India succumbed to Scott Boland’s exceptional bowling, eventually handing over the match to Australia.

Leave a comment