ICC World Cup 2023 Team List

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023: The upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is a highly anticipated and significant cricket tournament of the year. The upcoming mega event has been slated to be hosted by India during the months of October and November.

The upcoming competition in India will mark a significant moment in history, as it will be the first time the country hosts the event independently. India has previously served as a co-host for the World Cup on three occasions: in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

ICC World Cup History

There have been 12 editions of the ICC World Cup played thus far. The inaugural edition of the event was conducted in England in 1975, with participation from 8 teams. The first-ever World Cup was won by West Indies after defeating Australia in the final. The subsequent iterations of the tournament were also hosted in England, with West Indies and India emerging victorious in the second and third editions, respectively.

In 1987, the World Cup was hosted by India and Pakistan, marking the first time it was held outside of England. 50-over matches were introduced in ODIs for the first time during the tournament. Prior to that, a singular ODI innings encompassed 60 overs. The tournament was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 1992, followed by India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka as co-hosts for the subsequent edition in 1996.

Three years later, England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and the Netherlands co-hosted the event, bringing it back to Europe. The event was conducted in Africa after a span of four years, with South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya serving as co-hosts for the first time. The ICC World Cup was initially held in West Indies in 2007, marking the first time it was hosted there. Subsequently, the tournament was co-hosted by India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka, marking its return to Asia.

The 2019 edition of the competition saw Australia and New Zealand serving as co-hosts, followed by a return to the English shores. The nation of Australia boasts the most triumphs in the history of the World Cup, with a total of 5 victories. The teams with the second-highest number of World Cup titles are West Indies and India, both having won twice. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have each won the World Cup once.

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List

The ICC World Cup 2023 will feature a participation of 10 teams. The forthcoming edition will adhere to the format of the 2019 edition. The tournament will consist of a round-robin stage, succeeded by the semifinals and final. The proposed format entails each of the 10 teams participating in a single match against every other team, commonly known as round-robin.

In the scoring system, a team will receive two points for a victory, whereas a game that concludes with no outcome will grant each team one point. Upon completion of the round-robin stage, the four highest-ranking teams will advance to the semifinal round.

The Super League 2020-23 served as the primary route for qualification to the ICC World Cup 2023. The marquee event will feature the top seven sides in the competition, along with hosts India, who have secured automatic qualification.

The 2023 World Cup Qualifier will feature the five teams remaining on the Super League table, along with the top three teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 and the top two teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Playoff. The objective of this tournament is to determine the final two spots for the main event. The upcoming Qualifier has been slated to occur in Zimbabwe during the months of June and July.

The ICC World Cup currently has spots reserved for India, England, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and South Africa. The Qualifiers will feature Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, and the United States competing for the final two spots.

ICC World Cup 2023 Team List:

New Zealand
South Africa

ICC World Cup 2023 Qualifiers Team List:

Sri Lanka
West Indies
United Arab Emirates
United States

Read | ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule: Points Table, Time Table, Fixtures


Which country will host the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

India will host the 2023 Cricket World Cup.

What are the teams that will play in the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

These are 8 teams (England, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, India (host), and Australia) are qualified. 2 more teams will be qualified in the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

1 thought on “ICC World Cup 2023 Team List”

Leave a comment